fake tld domains
|
|||
|
Rank: ? (5)
Member #: 10282 |
hi everyone, i've just realised about this new trend of buying yourself a ultra-compact domain name from some unknown country like nauru such as de.rn or co.rn, then giving away free subdomains and posing as free tld providers. the thing is, they actually admit they are giving you subdomains, but they put things in a way that makes you think its a free top level domain.
for example, there's this co.nr website that i found by accident from some link like "get your free domain today" or sth. i went there and actually believed it for some short time until i read their terms of service and got to the official rn registry. then i went to their forums very annoyed, and tried to alert people about what's going on, but i'm not sure if i did it properly and succeded, and the moderators just try to make me look ridiculous. they've even got their own short urls service directory, where they "surprisingly" praise themselves and criticise dot.tk. i belive what i'm saying is correct, but please tell me if i said something wrong. and i'd like to ask people to help me to check this out, and possibly post good arguments in their boards, to take off their mask. thanks everyone. |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: ? (5)
Member #: 10282 |
come on guys, won't anybody help? OF COURSE i read the TOS, and i DID NOT sign up for their service. i'm not getting anythimg out of this, but i just CAN'T stand those companies lying to people to get you to use their service.
even tho they put the things in their TSO, i think telling people different things outside the TSO is still **misleading advertising**, isn't it? please take a look at this: http://web.co.nr/ "Domain name: web.co.nr - is not in our database. It means this domain name might be available for registration. And you can register it right now on our website Absolutely FREE ! Signup now to get this Domain! - It's Absolutely FREE ! Please click here to visit CO.NR website!" i can at least clearly say that: http://co.nr/ <- website of company "co", country "nauru" http://co.uk/ <- not a valid website address http://something.co.nr/ <- "something" is a directory of website "co.nr" http://something.co.uk/ <- "something" is a uk registred website |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: ? (187)
Member #: 8216 |
You've summed it up pretty nicely. I get real annoyed when companies (or individuals for that matter too) use misleading advertisements to get your attention, and only later after you've spent too much time do you realise that the offer was too good to be true.
On the contrary, I've had really good experiences with shorturl.com. They're the only redirection service I've ever used. They really are free, they don't force ads onto your page If CO.NR really are greasy and they're giving you the shits, give shorturl a go. Just watch out though next time you see crap like "Free top-level domain" or "Free domain names", I think there really isn't such thing. Nothing with a high monetary worth (like a domain name) is really free, and anything that is free is usually worth what you paid for it. There are some exceptions though... like when you find stuff... I found a really great monitor by the side of the road, I still use it to this day... Um, never mind. /rant. |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: Unregistered
|
You did look ridiculous
See, when you begin to discuss the subject you dont know anything about, without even reading something to educate yourself before making statments, you do make funny mistakes (even .rn instead of .nr), and undoubtedly you do look ridiculous BTW, about dot.tk If you checked forums you refering to more carefully, you would find a list of other recommended free short urls, but dot.tk is REALLY more down than up Best wishes, -conr |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: Unregistered
|
What is wrong with dot.tk? I use them for 6 months or so, so far so good no down and all up. But .co.nr is 50% down and something a blank page just sit there. I know many ppl said good thing about .co.nr but I just can't convince myself and I wanted to drop dok.tk becos everyone said they r bad but they just so good to me.
I dont believe in fake domain it is just ppl never do home work b4 they sign up. Call them fake domain if you like if it serve the purpose who care after all it is free and they never take your money anyway and provide service to you free. So don't make ridiculous out of yourself if you never check out what you want b4 you sign up. Is all your fault nothing of the "fake" domain supplier. |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: ? (187)
Member #: 8216 |
Please, don't turn this into a flamers thread;
Someone I'd like to ask people to help me to check this out,
Why not do just that? Help, or even simpler, post your own thoughts, or, even simpler again, click elsewhere and stop telling 'the other person' they're ridiculous or they're a crybaby Someone The moderators just try to make me look ridiculous.
Conr do you need to reinforce that? It already sounds like Someone had the piss taken out of him on another board, we don't really need to do that here... I'm not a moderator, and I'm going to stfu now. </rant [sorry]> |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: Unregistered
|
Sedocity,
Someone posted: "those companies lying to people to get you to use their service" and many more things I do not agree with so I posted my reply.. However, I agree, this board is not the place to solve family issues Best wishes to everyone -conr |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: ? (5)
Member #: 10282 |
thank you very much indeed for the support sedocity, it does make me feel much better.
|
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: Unregistered
|
I suppose some ppl only look at the negative side of things.
If those company offer free sub domain that do not charge anything from me I don't complaint. If anyone considered a sub domain as a fake domain than everyone will be using a fake domain some how or rather. LIke Forum.so&so.com, support.this&that.com are all fake domain. Common ppl look at the bright side, stop, get alway from your computer take a walk and smell the flower if you really want domething real. everything on the PC are fake |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: Unregistered
|
hello everybody
well as u said about dot.tk i think u r a mod of co.nr well i m using dot.tk and found its very good service my site is http://www.e-greetings.tk and i think really co.nr is a fake and whats worse they do not allow to sign up for .co.nr now a day instead they tell you to signup for biz.ly thats ridiculous now do u want to say smthing huh?? Anonymous Coward You did look ridiculous
See, when you begin to discuss the subject you dont know anything about, without even reading something to educate yourself before making statments, you do make funny mistakes (even .rn instead of .nr), and undoubtedly you do look ridiculous BTW, about dot.tk If you checked forums you refering to more carefully, you would find a list of other recommended free short urls, but dot.tk is REALLY more down than up Best wishes, -conr |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: Unregistered
|
hi
i think dot.tk is the best free domain provider now a day i have tried to signup there 5 times in previous 3 days but always got a very ridiculous message, my site is on with.tk and it is working fine-->http://e-greetings.tk |
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: Unregistered
|
Real domain is only $6 bulks only all other sucks and if you can't paid $6 bulks and complaint you sucks like hell.
|
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: ? (3049)
Member #: 265 |
if you want quality you have to shell out dough...
<Farley> or think of me in a micromini thong
<Jester> my willy died
|
||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Rank: ? (1)
Member #: 29762 |
Ummm... dot.tk is good, it has a lot of features, and it's free. But, co.nr doesn't require that gay ad on the top. Of course, it's a subdomain, but I don't see why that matters that much. I use CO.NR AND .TK. I use CO.NR more. I hate the ad. That's why it's free. Ads. CO.NR doesn't need the big ad at the top, just a little one anywhere you want it. It is still cool, but .TK has more features.
|
||
|
Please login or register to post a reply.